A. What do I want to collect? (Answer)

After spending some solid time thinking about what exactly it is I want to collect, I know I still want to collect fashion dolls (as why else would I have started this blog? LOL).

However in terms of size, I’ve definitely fallen back in love with the sixth-scale divas over the last 2 years.  So sixth-scale shall remain. And while I’ve been fortunate to own various dolls from Barbie to FR to Gene/Tyler, and even a Sybarite–it’s easy to lose focus when there are so many gorgeous dolls on the market (and new ones are constantly being introduced).

That being said, in terms of the 12″ dolls, while they are gorgeous and I think they are amazing–the IT dolls don’t tend to keep my focus for very long. True story. Even though the majority of the older dolls can’t really move, now that the play line dolls have become articulated, I’m reliving my childhood. Yes, for this boy, it’s Back to Barbie in 2012.

Thanks to Chris for allowing me to play with his image of Barbie.

10 Comments on “A. What do I want to collect? (Answer)”

  1. LeeAnn
    01/31/2012 at 12:32 pm #

    The nice thing about the 1:6th scale doll is that you can buy expensive or inexpensive. The Basic Barbie line is so nice and don’t cost an arm/leg. Plus so many of the FR dolls can wear the inexpensive clothing. Makes you not feel guilty about buying yourself a little something new. :-) Not to mention they don’t take up NEAR the room to display.

    hugs!! LeeAnn

  2. Matty
    01/31/2012 at 1:03 pm #

    Sooo true, LeeAnn! That and well, I NEED to find Operetta… I think Monster High has finally sucked me in. XO

  3. Dollutional
    01/31/2012 at 1:10 pm #

    I have a hard time focusing also. I jump around and I’m not at all satisfied with most of the dolls out there. The promo picture is always magnificent, then I see the actual and eh…. Can’t wait to see your Barbies going forward. I think Barbie is always a good bet.

  4. Matty
    01/31/2012 at 1:15 pm #

    Many thanks for your kind words! I agree, Barbie is always a great bet!

  5. Steph-a-nie
    01/31/2012 at 1:42 pm #

    YAY!! I try to stick to collecting Barbie because I can’t even afford all of the Barbies I want so to try to spread my already very limited budget across more lines would be impossible!! Congrats on the decision…it’s a difficult one to make!!

  6. Matty
    01/31/2012 at 2:22 pm #

    I totally hear ya Steph! :) Thank you!

  7. vanessamorrison
    01/31/2012 at 2:24 pm #

    Welcome to the world of Barbie! I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

  8. Matty
    01/31/2012 at 3:00 pm #

    I’m sure I will! Thanks V! XO

  9. Susan
    02/01/2012 at 9:53 pm #

    Hi, this is my first time to post here, FYI. It’s funny that I happened onto this topic because it has been my issue since I just started collecting Barbie 12/2011. I’ve not been a doll collector at all although my mother is/was a huge doll collector, but she collects antique dolls of a numerous variety. I’ve always loved Barbie, but life was in the way for me to see that it would be a hobby that I would love. That being said; once I started (Couture Angel 2011 1st doll for Christmas from a wish list of mine) this crazy new world of dolls emerged from the 6:1 scale to 12″. I’ve not strayed off of Barbie as far as purchases go, but when I went to a Doll Show in Waco, TX last month I met Gene. Oh she is lovely! So, I found a website called http://www.angelicdreamz.com/ (I pray it was fine for me to leave this address) and the world of these two scale dolls exploded! I have a lot of time to do what I want now, so I’ve seen a lot of information and have come to the conclusion that Barbie is the doll of choice. I was so confused for a little while that it was quite overwhelming. I just don’t want to mottle things up, you know what I mean? It’s great if you like a lot of variety, please don’t get me wrong, but I like to keep it simple so I can focus my clothes and accessory purchases to get more bang for the buck! My love of Barbie is much deeper than that statement sounds though. I’m glad that you voted to stay with Barbie and I look forward to reading more on your site. I have many questions about photography, get your fingers nibbled!

  10. Matty
    02/01/2012 at 10:06 pm #

    Welcome Susan! I’m glad you found my corner of the internet! Barbie sounds like a perfect fit for you too! And Angelic Dreamz is WONDERFUL. :D Gene is gorgeous and will always be special to me. :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

